Arizona Committee of Safety (ACoS)

Meeting Minutes December 2, 2011

Opening:

The regular meeting of the Arizona Committee of Safety was called to order at 7:15 on December 2, 2011 in Rock Springs, AZ by Mike Frye, Chairman.

Prayer by Dave Stover. Pledge of Allegiance.

Rules of Conduct during the meeting was addressed by Jeff Schops, Sergeant at Arms. No one talks out of turn, respects speaker of the floor and Chairman. No interruptions.

Present:

Mike Frye (interim Chairman), Wendy Schops (interim Secretary), Jeff Schops (interim Sergeant at Arms), Jim Williams, Paul Calaway, Frank Davidson, Gene Diehl, Charles Yuditsky, Dave Stover, Tim Guiney, Scott Fusso, Joan Fusso, Ken Guillen, Nicole LeCompte-Lyon, Valerie Rollen, George Sprankle, Arlene Holcombe, Steve Winkhaus, Chris Tisch, Gary Frank, Gayle Gregory, Phillip Richards, Steve Frye

A. Approval of Agenda

The agenda was unanimously approved as distributed.

B. Approval of Minutes

Previous minutes were read by Wendy Schops, Secretary, and approved.

C. Open Issues

1. Discussion and approval of submitted By-Laws and Rules – wording that was to be submitted by Casey Nethercott was never received. Dialogue regarding acceptance of the By-Laws as initially submitted ensued and wording regarding bankers, lawyers and law enforcement was brought up to remove that wording.

2. Election of permanent Officers to be held on February 10, 2012

D. New Business

• Arlene Holcombe brought up concerns about the protection of ACoS members and infiltration. Agreed that adherence to The Constitution and state laws will protect us. Any member making false statements regarding the ACos will be subject to censure and possible removal from ACoS.

Mike Frye explained duties of Sergeant at Arms and the need for the Oath of Secrecy to be signed by all Subscribed members.

- Mike Frye informed us that Mohave and Pima Counties in Arizona are forming Committees of Safety.
- A vote to remove the wording from the Subscribers form, restricting bankers, lawyers and law enforcement personnel from becoming members of ACoS, was unanimously approved.
- A motion to approve and adopt the By-Laws as distributed at the meeting was made by Gene Diehl, seconded by Dave Stover and thirdly by Phillip Richards. The vote was unanimous.
- The Declaration of County Commissions was read by Mike Frye and a motion to approve and adopt it was made by Mike Frye, seconded by Chuck Yuditsky and thirdly by Jeff Schops, and unanimously approved.
- Subscriber forms were distributed and completed by all present at the meeting. The Oath of Secrecy form was subsequently also signed by all present at the meeting. Wendy Schops collected all signed forms.
- Mike Frye reiterated that no member was to speak, email or make public comments on behalf of the ACoS. Chairman and Secretary are only authorized to speak on behalf of the ACoS publicly until a Public Relations Officer is elected.
- Mike Frye explained the need to organized and nominate members for sub committees: 1) Militia Sub Committee 2) Fund Raising Sub Committee 3) Field Shoot in Contested Arizona Lands Sub Committee. The sub committees were defined as follows; 1) the militia sub committee is to identify militias of all types 2) the fund raising sub committee is to raise operating capital for the ACoS as needed 3) the field shoot sub committee is to organize groups to use land for target practice. All sub committees will report to the ACoS Board.
- For the Militia Sub Committee, Gene Diehl proposed that only veterans be on the initial committee. That proposal was discussed and rejected. Mike Frye nominated Gene Diehl, Tim Guiney and Chuck Yuditsky for the committee. Gene Diehl accepted. Tim Guiney accepted. Chuck Yuditsky declined due to time restraints. Mike Frye nominated Phillip Richards and he accepted. Chuck Yuditsky nominated Gary Frank and he accepted. No other nominations were made. Motion to approve all accepting nominees was made by Mike Frye, seconded by Jim Williams and thirdly by Valerie Rollen. Vote was unanimous.

- For the Fund Raiser Sub Committee, Mike Frye nominated Valerie Rollen and she accepted. Scott Fusso nominated Nicole LeCompte-Lyon and she accepted. Mike Frye nominated Frank Davidson and he accepted. No other nominations were made. Motion to approve was made by Mike Frye. Vote to approve was unanimous.
- For the Field Shoot Sub Committee, Mike Frye nominated Chuck Yuditsky and he accepted. Scott Fusso nominated Chris Tisch and he accepted. Jim Williams nominated Dave Stover and he accepted. George Sprankle nominated Jim Williams and he declined. Steve Winkhaus nominated Nicole LeCompte-Lyon and she accepted. No other nominations were made. Motion by Mike Frye to approve of all accepting nominees was carried by Chuck Yuditsky, seconded by Phillip Richards and thirdly by Gayle Gregory. Vote to approve was unanimous.
- Final word encouraging those interested in the permanent ACoS officer positions to be ready to announce it by the next meeting.

E. Agenda for Next Meeting

To be submitted by Mike Frye before next meeting.

Adjournment:

Meeting was adjourned at 9:40pm by Mike Frye. The next general meeting will be at 7:00pm on January 13, 2012 in Rock Springs, Arizona

Minutes submitted by:	Wendy Schops, Secretary

Approved by:

Mike Frye, Chairman